Skip to Main Content

Councils and Committees

In 2016, AUGS moved to a council structure to create a nimble governance structure to continue to advance the Board approved strategic plan and to support the future growth of AUGS. This structure encourages more collaboration across committees.



Practice Management Council


Coding and Reimbursement Committee

Purpose: Represent the coding and reimbursement needs of the Society. This committee will address payment and coverage issues, answer coding questions from members, develop fact sheets for the AUGS website, and write coding articles for FPMRS News. The committee will also review CPT codes, ICD-codes, and HCPCS codes.

Payment Reform Committee

Purpose: Gain expertise in the development and execution of alternative payment models as defined by CMS. Address payment reform issues as needed.


Education Council


Education Committee

Purpose: Evaluate the educational needs of urogynecologists, gynecologists and urologists focused on FPMRS and develop programs and services that address those needs.

Fellowship Training Committee

Purpose: Evaluate the educational needs of FPMRS fellows and fellowship programs and develop programs and services that AUGS can provide.

Clinical Meeting Planning Committee

Purpose: Develop a new live course that is clinically focused and assists physicians with staying informed on the latest clinical advancements in the field, as well as how to run a practice in today’s environment.

PFD Week Program Committee

Purpose: Maintain and enhance PFD Week, AUGS’ annual meeting, to ensure it is the leading meeting for health care professionals interested in FPMRS education. Develop programming that maximizes the attendee experience and focuses on the latest scientific and surgical advances in the field.

Advance Practice Provider Course Planning Committee

Purpose: Evaluate the educational needs of allied health professionals focused on FPMRS and develop programs and services that address those needs.


Research & Quality Improvement Council


PFD Research Registry Committee

Purpose: Oversee the current operations of the PFD Research Registry, plan for expansion and ensure that the Registry supports the research needs and strategic goals as determined by the Board of Directors. The PFD Research Registry Committee would also share information about the various registry activities and seek additional partners to conduct Industry-sponsored or other externally-sponsored studies.

Scientific Committee

Purpose: Support the work of the Research Council by ensuring programs are in place to support the research needs of the FPMRS community.

ACQUIRE Committee

Purpose: Improve the quality, safety, effectiveness and costs of urogynecology by promoting, enhancing, and expanding the ACQUIRE registry including the QCDR and SUI Modules. The ACQUIRE registry aims to develop, track and monitor quality improvement activities of interest to the urogynecology field. The goal is for multiple stakeholders, including the FDA and device manufacturers to efficiently use data collected from ACQUIRE, to meet regulatory requirements and improve patient care. 

Quality Committee

Purpose: Support the work of the Quality Council by ensuring programs are in place to support the quality outcome needs of the FPMRS community.


Outreach Council


Membership Committee

Purpose: Represents and monitors the needs of the membership and ensures a strong membership structure and benefits package.

Public Education Committee

Purpose: Support the Outreach Council on outreach efforts to the public about the FPMRS subspecialty and role of the urogynecologist. Ensure the seamless integration of all patient-related programs and services on behalf of AUGS.

Special Interest Groups/Communities of Practice

Purpose: Create and foster community feeling around a designated area of interest that brings together AUGS members for information exchange and sharing.


Publications Council


Publications Committee

Purpose: Provide oversight to the development of clinical guidance documents, including Clinical Practice Guidelines, Clinical Consensus Statements, Terminology Reports, and Systematic Reviews. Ensure the documents produced by writing groups and other AUGS committees and networks are of high quality, consistent form and content, and accurate terminology.  

FPMRS Journal

Purpose: FPMRS is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to specialists, physicians and allied health professionals concerned with prevention, diagnosis and treatment of female pelvic floor disorders.