Skip to Main Content

Leadership Program

AUGS' formal leadership program seeks to identify future leaders of the organization with a special emphasis on junior members. The program was designed by Dr. Deborah Myers, Past President and Dr. Adam Steinberg, and features both didactic learning and engagement with AUGS committees, special interest groups, task forces, abstract review, and/or sub-committee work. 

The AUGS Leadership Program is offered every other year with the 2021 cycle being led by Dr. Sandy Valaitis and Dr. Mikio Nihira. Applications are now being accepted now through January 11 for the 2021 cycle.  

Goals and Objectives

  • Identify future leaders of the organization with special emphasis on junior members
  • Mentor junior members to become AUGS leaders
  • Educate participants on AUGS history, governance structure and what it means to be a volunteer leader

Participant Specifications

  • AUGS members in good standing for at least three years
  • Members who are active in Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery clinically or through basic science
  • Individuals between 3-15 years out of training who have demonstrated leadership skills within their medical practice or community involvement and have an interest in further developing these skills. 

Selection Requirements and Process

  • Applicants will complete application which includes:
    • CV
    • Personal statements (1-2 pages) describing why they should be chosen
    • Attestation stating they will have the time to participate, pay dues for the next three years, be able to attend the designated in-person meetings and signature of support from the chairperson of your department
  • Up to 12 applicants will be chosen for the program
  • Individuals are selected based upon the strengths, enthusiasm and relevance of their personal statement, and the commitment to education and leadership 
  • After program completion, participants will be expected to be active in the following year’s Leadership Program, as well as hold a voluntary position within AUGS (committee, task force, leadership program mentor).

Leadership Program Specifics

  • Didactic Learning: Two virtual didactic sessions are planned and are a mandatory portion of the program. The virtual learning dates are:
    • Saturday, February 27, 2021
    • Saturday, March 6, 2021
  • Face to Face Meeting: One in-person meeting is planned and will be scheduled in conjunction with PFD Week 2021. The in-person meeting will be held on:
    • Tuesday, October 5, 2021 (Please note, AUGS will continue to monitor travel restrictions as a result of COVID-19 and may host this as a virtual meeting, if necessary)
  • Project-specific work: Participants will be divided into three work groups for their project-specific work. Each group will be assigned a mentor to help facilitate this work. As a group they must select a project to work on together. Projects will be presented at the conclusion of the program during the Annual Scientific Meeting in-person meeting.
  • View the tentative curriculum.


The application period is now closed - applicants will be notified in late January. 

Past Participants


Christina Dancz
Jill McHenry Danford
Joseph Kowalski
Isuzu Meyer
Maggie Mueller
Charbel Salamon 
Jonathan Shaw
Megan Elizabeth Tarr


Vivian Aguilar
Susan Barr
Catrina Crisp
Tola Fashokun
Bela Kudish
Jaime Long
Shazia Malik
Tyler Muffly
Gina Northington
Blair Washington
Amanda White



Marianna Alperin
Sylvia Botros-Brey
Gena Dunivan
Tanaz Ferzandi
Betsy Greenleaf
Andrew Hundley
Lisa Johnson
Steven Minaglia
Beri Ridgeway
Megan Schimpf
Renee Ward
Tajnoos Yazdany




Chi Chung Grace Chen
Cara Grimes
Heidi Harvie
Christine Heisler
Sangeeta Mahajan
Samantha Pulliam
Lieschen Quiroz
Gary Sutkin
Emanuel Trabuco
Jennifer Wu